The first native title claim in Victoria was made in 1994 by the Yorta Yorta people. The claim was contested through the Federal Court and High Court and resulted in a negative determination in 2002. 

In June 2004, the Victorian Government entered into a co-operative management agreement with Yorta Yorta over certain public lands that formed part of their native title claim area.

On 13 December 2005, native title was determined to exist for the first time in Victoria for the people of the Wotjobaluk, Jaadwa, Jadawadjali, Wergaia and Jupagulk peoples of the Wimmera. 

On 30 March 2007, the Gunditjmara people in the south west of Victoria were also found to hold native title. The Victorian Government consented to both of these Federal Court determinations. 

On 22 October 2010, the first agreements under the Traditional Owner Settlement Act 2010 (Vic) were reached with the Gunaikurnai people of Gippsland. 

On 27 July 2011, the Federal Court found that the Gunditjmara and Eastern Maar peoples hold native title over some areas of Crown land in the south west of Victoria.

On 28 March 2013, the State and the Dja Dja Wurrung people entered into a Recognition and Settlement Agreement under the Traditional Owner Settlement Act.